Life Update: playing radio shows & my current favorite songs!

I’m learning more each day that dreams are manifested one step at a time. Behind every little victory is a battlefield I had to fight through. For me, that often looks like my half-highlighted to-do lists scribbled in my planner, handfuls of partially written songs, and a constant effort to feel motivated and inspired, even on the days I’d rather stay in bed and hide. On particularly bad days, I’ve found that if I can just push through one important task, my mind will inescapably drag its feet at first, but eventually catch up and get into a productive mentality. I know, I’m talking about my mind like it’s a different person, but sometimes it really feels like it is…

Anyway, as I speak of little victories, I want to share with y’all the privilege I had of playing an online radio show, Hunter At Sunrise, the other week! I played a song from my EP, Mississippi, as well as two other new ones that I’ve shared over on my YouTube. I also had a nice conversation with Hunter about my future aspirations and musical influences. You can listen to the podcast session here, and/or watch the live Facebook video below!

 (first song – Mississippi, second song – But When I Do, third song – All Those Pretty Roses)

I’ve also been listening to a lot of new music recently, and I wanted to share my current favorite picks with y’all! First up, I’ve been playing Ashley McBryde’s new record Girl Going Nowhere on repeat since it dropped at the end of March. She’s one of my new favorite contemporary country artists; I have fallen in love with her prolific songwriting and authentic country/rock sound. I’m planning on posting a more in-depth review of the album for Music Monday, so keep an eye out for that!

In other news, Taylor Swift recently released an acoustic version of Earth, Wind & Fire’s 1978 single “September” on Spotify, and I am OBSESSED with it. I learned of the release via Twitter and of course, I saw lots of criticism denouncing the pop singer’s “right” to reinvent such an iconic song. Though I’m not a fan of Taylor’s newer music, I personally think this cover is fantastic. The country twist and airy vocals present the song in a very different way, and I love it as much as I do the original version. Say what you want about Taylor Swift, but sometimes I don’t think she receives the credit she deserves.

I recently created a playlist – Kate’s Favorite Songs 2018 – where I will start adding these tracks as I discover them! Give it a follow if you’re a Spotify user and want to hear my choice music throughout 2018.

Screen Shot 2018-04-28 at 10.19.24 AM

It’s crazy that we’re already about to come into May – I have got some crazy busy weeks ahead of me! With quite a few gigs on the books, as well as other projects I’m going to start working on, writing new songs, etc., life is going to feel a little hectic, but in the best way. I’ll try my hardest to share updates as I go. As always, thank you for reading and supporting me!

Much love. 

READ MORE: playing my first band show!

LISTEN TO MY SONGS: “Boy Named Sunday” | Original by Kate Stedelbauer 

FOLLOW ME: INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // FACEBOOK// YOUTUBE

MY MUSIC: SPOTIFY // iTUNES // AMAZON // GOOGLE PLAY

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Life Update: playing radio shows & my current favorite songs!

Leave a comment