Music Monday: Maren Morris LIVE & Why She Inspires Me

Y’all, there is some serious girl power in today’s Music Monday.

Last week, I got to see Maren Morris in concert! For those of y’all that haven’t heard of her, Maren is a Texas-born country singer/songwriter that also happens to have some killer vocals. She released her first major label album, Hero, in June 2016. If you’re a fan of country radio, you’ve probably heard her hit, “My Church”, the debut single off the album. Her sound is relatively new country, but after listening to her full album, I detect a lot of R&B/soul influences in there as well. In the summer of 2016, she did a CMT Crossroads concert with Grammy-winning R&B queen Alicia Keys, and it was really cool to watch their styles mesh together for the show. They also performed Maren’s “Once” at the 2017 Grammy awards, and that was incredible to watch. Seeing two phenomenal female acts come together to deliver such a riveting performance is awe-inspiring. I will link it here if you want to watch.

Anyway, she’s on the road this summer with Sam Hunt on his 15 In A 30 Tour. My best friend and I are both big Maren fans, so when we heard she was going to be in concert near us, we had to go. She played for about 45 minutes before Sam Hunt came on, and though her set was short, it was so worth it! We were towards the middle of the lawn on the right side of the stage, so picture-taking was not as ideal as I hope, but I think I still got some cool shots.

IMG_1219

IMG_1162

IMG_1218

IMG_1209

I always love seeing female country stars in concert because I see my future self in them. I can’t help but get emotional and connect so deeply to a powerful woman singing on stage because that is what I want to do for the rest of my life. Maren is a vision when she performs, and though she is a tiny, she is mighty. Her voice is so strong and full, she sounds just like her recorded music while still maintaining a perfectly-imperfect live persona as well. When she played “My Church”, the whole amphitheater lit up – everyone was singing the words. I can’t imagine how good that feels, playing a show in front of a gigantic crowd that knows the words to a song that you wrote. I can only hope that in my wildest dreams, that will come true for me some day. I find inspiration in these moments of passion because it reminds me of why I do what I do. I am a young, female singer/songwriter with a lot of dreams and I realize that at one point, Maren was just like me. I retain my strength, drive, and perseverance from watching her perform, and it makes me want to strive to be better everyday.

So in short, if you’re considering seeing Maren Morris in concert, I would say go for it! I linked the 15 In A 30 tour above, so you should definitely check it out if you’re interested.

I hope y’all enjoyed today’s Music Monday! Let me know in the comments below if there are any artists you think I should check out. I’m always in the mood to discover new music. They might even end up on a future Music Monday sometime soon…

As always y’all, much love. 

© Kate Stedelbauer and AbundantlyKate, 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kate Stedelbauer and AbundantlyKate with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Leave a Reply

